Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Patriarch of Alexandria visited the Holy Monastery of Voulkanos in Messinia

His Beatitude Pope and Patriarch Theodoros of Alexandria and All Africa fulfilled a personal vow on Saturday, 3 February 2024, by visiting the Voulkanos Holy Monastery. He expressed his gratitude and paid homage to the Theotokos, known as Voulkaniotissa, for her assistance during challenging times.

The brotherhood extended a warm welcome to the visitor at the monastery’s entrance. An official doxology took place in the Katholikon of the Monastery, attended by His Eminence Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Messinia, one of the monastery’s brothers, His Eminence Metropolitan Theoklitos of Stagoi and Meteora, and the accompanying bishops, including His Eminence Elder Metropolitan Gabriel of Leontopolis, His Eminence Metropolitan Georgios of Guinea, His Eminence Metropolitan Meletios of Carthage, and His Grace Bishop Prodromos of Toliara and Southern Madagascar

Following the Doxology, Patriarch Theodoros dedicated to the icon of Panagia Voulkaniotissa his personal Patriarchal Engolpia and Pectoral Cross, as well as sacred covers for the holy Prothesis.

Subsequently, at the Synodikon of the Holy Monastery, a monastic treat and refreshments were extended to all in attendance. Subsequently, the Abbot of the Holy Monastery, Archimandrite Prokopios Smyrnis, presented the Patriarch with a replica of the miraculous icon of Panagia Voulkaniotissa, expressing their heartfelt wishes for his protection and unwavering support in his challenging missionary endeavours. His Beatitude Patriarch Theodoros signed the Monastery’s official guest book and presented an official photograph of himself, which will be displayed in the synodikon.

The visit of the Patriarch to the historic Monastery was attended by the Mayor of Messini, Mr. Georgios Athanasopoulos, the Mayor of Kalamata, Mr. Athanasios Vasilopoulos, the Deputy Regional Governor of Messinia, Mr. Efstathios Anastasopoulos, deputy mayors, municipal councillors, as well as representatives of other local organisations.