Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Greece: New parliament sworn in

Greece’s new Parliament was sworn in on Monday, following the general elections held on June 25. The ceremony took place in the presence of Greek President Katerina Sakellaropoulou.

Following the religious oath which was officiated by His Beatitude Archbishop Ieronymos of Athens and All Greece, Muslim members of Parliament swore on the Quran, while those who preferred to do so, took the political oath.

The inaugural session of the new Parliament commenced at 11 a.m., with Nikitas Kaklamanis, the first vice-president of the previous House, presiding over the proceedings.

The front seats, from right to left, were taken by MPs representing New Democracy, PASOK-KINAL, SYRIZA, and the Greek Communist Party, while further back, the MPs from Greek Solution, Niki, Spartiates, and Course of Freedom were seated.