Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Mitsotakis sworn in as prime minister, begins new term in office

Kyriakos Mitsotakis was sworn in as prime minister for a second term on Monday afternoon, after his party achieved a big win on Sunday’s general elections.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at the Presidential Palace, in the presence of the President, Katerina Sakellaropoulou and Archbishop Ieronymos of Athens and All Greece. Mitsotakis then walked to the Maximos Mansion, the official seat of the prime minister, where he met with outgoing caretaker premier Ioannis Sarmas, to officially begin his new term.

Mitsotakis thanked Sarmas and the cabinet of the caretaker government for its “exemplary operation” during its short tenure, while Sarmas wished him success in his renewed term.

A ceremony to swear in Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis for his second term in government was held on Monday, after he received the mandate to form a government from President of the Hellenic Republic Katerina Sakellaropoulou. At 17:00, the composition of the new government is to be announced.

“It is a special honour to receive this mandate to form a government with a four-year horizon,” Mitsotakis said in his meeting with President Sakellaropoulou at the Presidential Mansion on Monday morning.

He reiterated that he is aware that the “responsibility lies heavy on my shoulders” and pointed out that his goal from the beginning had been to form a single-party government, while he once again pledged to initiate major changes and reforms.

“We have a strong mandate and a parliamentary majority, our government will be a government of hard work and practical results,” noted Mitsotakis. He explained that democracy is mature and able to handle temporary upheavals and said that the eight-party Parliament was the “death rattle of simple proportional representation”.

On her part, Sakellaropoulou underlined that “our democracy proved resilient” and wished Mitsotakis success in the work ahead.

Next Monday, July 3, at 11:00, a ceremony will be held to swear in the new parliamentary deputies elected in the recent elections.