Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Canonisations and penalties announced by the Holy Synod of the Ecumenical Patriarchate

The Holy and Sacred Synod of the Ecumenical Patriarchate met under the chairmanship of His All-Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew at its regular session on November 16 and 17, 2023.

According to the unanimous decision of the Synod, the following were classified in the List of Saints of the Orthodox Church:

a) the Hieromonk Athanasios Hamakiotis, of the Holy Metropolis of Kifissia, Maroussi, Oropos, and Marathon, and
b) Archimandrite Gervasios Paraskevopoulos, of the Holy Metropolis of Patras, both distinguished for the loyalty and sacrificial ministry of the people, engraved from the beginning as Saints in its conscience.

After examining the case of Bishop Petros of Troas, the Holy Synod unanimously decided to impose on him the penalty of suspension.

Regarding the case of the Bishops Eirinaios of Evmenia and Damaskinos of Dorylaion, the Holy Synod, after a thorough discussion, unanimously imposed on them the penalty of temporary confinement in their respective Holy Monasteries, namely the Bishop of Evmenia in the Monastery of Gouverneto – Lady of the Angels and the Bishop of Dorylaion in the Monastery of Agia Triada of Tzagaroli, which are located in the area of Chania.

Also, the Patriarchal Offikia awarded to Archimandrite Porphyrios Bikouvarakis and Archimandrite Nikiforos Ikosidekas of the Ecumenical Throne were removed.

Finally, all the other matters for discussion on the agenda were also examined and the appropriate decisions were taken.